Firearms Registration

Aloha, Welcome to the Firearms Registration Webpage!

In order to better serve our community we have made the firearms registrations forms available online for completion so they can be printed and brought to the Firearms Section for verification. This process will help expedite the application process. Business hours are Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. (closed for lunch from 12 p.m. to 1 p.m). Questions regarding firearms, please call our firearms section at 808-241-1929. For general questions, please call 808-241-1929.

APPLICATION FOR A FIREARM PERMIT

Forms available online must be completed and brought to the firearms section.  You must be 21 years or older to purchase a firearm.    

  • Valid Photo Identification
  • Permit to Acquire Application (printed through the online application) 
    • You will need the Make, Model, Caliber, Type/Revolver/Semiautomatic etc, Barrel Length, and Serial Number (Handguns Only)
  • Mental Health Waiver (printed through the online application)
  • Name Address, and Telephone number of Seller
  • A onetime fee of $43.25 to be accessed for initial firearms applicant fingerprints to be entered into the State of Hawaii Rap Back Program. Only Cashiers Check or Money Order Accepted.  Make payable to Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. NO CASH ACCEPTED.  
  • Background Check (Background check includes, but is not limited to, warrant checks, local and national arrest history, local and national criminal history, local and national criminal convictions, any pending cases and TRO's.)
  • Original Hunters Education card or an original Handgun Safety Training Course Affidavit. (Handguns Only)
  • Original documentation of proof of U.S. Citizenship if born outside the United States. (U.S. Passport, Naturalization Certificate, born Abroad Birth Certificate).  

Please note, there is a 14 day waiting period on all permits. After the 14-day waiting period the permit will be valid for only 6 calendar days. Permits not picked up by the 6th day will be voided. Applicants will need to reapply and go through another 14-day waiting period, so please plan accordingly.  

Reference:  HRS 134-0002:  Permit to Acquire 

FIREARMS REGISTRATION

You must be 21 years or older to register a firearm. Firearms shall be registered in accordance with Hawaii Revised Statues 134-3. Please contact 808-241-1929 or email kpdrecords@kauai.gov for more information.  

You will need the following when you register your firearm:

  • Valid Photo Identification
  • Your original firearms permit
  • Name, address, phone number of seller, in state registration only
  • If you were born outside the United States, bring proof of citizenship such as an Original US Passport, Original Naturalization Certificate, Original Born Abroad Certificate, or if you are in the military your Enlisted (ERB) or Officer (ORB) Record Brief will suffice only if the document states you are a United States Citizen.  

Out-of-State Registrants Firearms shall be registered in accordance with Hawaii Revised Statutes 134-3. There is no 14-day waiting period for Out-of-State Registrations. You need the following when you register your firearm:  

  • Background fee $43.25. Only Cashiers Check or Money Order Accepted. Make payable to Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center. NO CASH ACCEPTED.  
  • Valid Photo Identification.
  • If you were born outside the United States, bring proof of citizenship such as an Original US Passport, Original Naturalization Certificate, Original Born Abroad Certificate, or if you are in the military yhour Enlisted (ERB) or Officer (ORB) Record Brief will suffice only if the document states you are a United States Citizen.  

The following forms are available on this website and maybe filled in prior to coming to the Firearms Section.

Married couples who would like to have their firearms jointly registered in both names need to also bring the Original Marriage Certificate. 

Reference:  HRS 134-0003 Registration, mandatory exceptions

 

PEPPER SPRAY APPLICATION

Individuals 18 years or older may own and possess Pepper Spray by applying for and passing the background check according to Kauai County Ordinance sec. 22-15.2. There is a nominal fee of $5.00 per individual application which is payed to the County of Kauai General Fund. The fee can be paid in cash, by money order, or by cashier’s check. Individuals who pass the background check will be given a permit to purchase Pepper Spray on the Island of Kauai. Valid photo ID is required. Please have the documents filled out prior to arriving. 

The following forms are available on this website and maybe filled in prior to coming to the Firearms Section.