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1. All foreign or out-of-state corporations must have complied with Chapter 414-433 thru 

414-437 Hawai’i Revised Statues, relating to registration of out-of-state corporations and 
their acquisition of real property in Hawai’i. 

 
 

2. Persons bidding as representatives or agents of others will be required to present 
notarized documents showing such authorization to bid on behalf of those parties they 
represent. 

 
3. Sale must be for an amount equal to or more than the total upset price.  The upset price 

is established by the amount of tax, penalty, and interest accrued to date of the auction, 
plus the cost and other charges incurred. 

 
4. Real Property with outstanding taxes due not paid in full up to the time of sale is 

auctioned to the highest bidder.  Payment of the full bid amount must be made in CASH 
or CASHIER CHECKS drawn on a U.S. bank and made payable to the Director of 
Finance.   

 
5. A credit memo will be given for any check amount that exceeds bid amount.  In such 

case, credits can also be recorded with sales officials at time of first purchase and 
excess can be bid on additional lots.  

 
6. Owners have the right to redeem their properties within one (1) year from the date of the 

sale, or if the deed was not recorded within 60 days after the sale, then one (1) year 
from the date of recordation.  The delinquent taxpayer/owner must pay the purchase 
price, cost and expenses, the fee for recording the deed, and interest of twelve per cent 
(12%) per annum to the successful bidder to redeem the property.  The owner must 
make arrangements for redemption directly with the purchaser.  HRS. §246-60.   

 
7. Tax deed will be prepared by the County and forwarded to the purchaser for recordation 

with the Bureau of Conveyances.  There is a recording fee that must be paid to the 
Bureau of Conveyances when recorded by the purchaser. 

 
8. The following recordation information is required: 

 
a. Identity and address of the recipient of the deed; 
 
b. The exact full name and marital status of the grantee; that is, in whose name the 

deed is to be drawn up; and 
 

c. The tenancy in which the ownership is to be held. 
 

9. Bidders must give clear distinct bids.  In closing the sale, the auctioneer will announce 

the final bid amount “once”, “twice”, “sold for $_____”. 
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10. Delinquent taxpayer/owner and others having or claiming to have any right, title or 

interest in the property must file a claim to any surplus funds.   

 

11. Kauai County Real Property Office website address is: www.kauaipropertytax.com  

 

12. The foreclosure list will be made available when the first ad breaks (usually 4 weeks 

prior to the sale date).  You may obtain a foreclosure list by the following:  

 Visit the County of Kauai website www.kauai.gov  

 Request a .pdf listing via email at rpc@kauai.gov  

 Available at our office: 

County of Kauai 
Real Property Tax Billing and Accounting 
4444 Rice Street Suite 463 
Lihue, Hawaii   96766  
 

13. Each County is responsible for their own tax sale and inquiries: 

City & County of Honolulu  County of Maui  County of Hawaii 
Division of Treasury   Real Property Tax Division  Real Property Tax 
Delinquent Collection Section  Service Center, Suite 16  Aupuni Center 
530 So King St, Rm 115  70 East Kaahumanu Ave  101 Pauahi St Suite 4 
Honolulu HI 96813  Kahului Maui HI 96732  Hilo HI 96720 

 
14. For further information, call the Real Property Tax Collection Section at (808) 241-4272. 

 
 
 
 

 


